New scholarship lends financial helping hand


Celebrating the Riley Foundation Scholarships are students Antonio Clayton, left, Ashley Wilder Jackson, Kathy Brookshire, MCC associate vice president for development; Dr. Scott Elliott, MCC president; Balydia Shanks, Sharon O’Neal, Christen Boler and Terrence Silva.

Thanks to The Riley Foundation, 10 Meridian Community College students are encountering a first this academic year.

They are the first recipients of The Riley Foundation Scholarships that were created for non-traditional students. The scholarships are funded through the MCC Foundation. "All of us at the MCC Foundation appreciate the support from The Riley Foundation. They are making a difference in the lives of these students," said Kathy Brookshire, associate vice president of development at MCC.

 “We are very appreciative of the support of The Riley Foundation,” said Dr. Scott Elliott, MCC president. “Over the years, The Riley Foundation has contributed to MCC across the curriculum in terms of such elements as our Success Center for student tutorials, additional resources for the Todd Library, and the incorporation of multi-media into our classrooms. We are also very proud that our health education building is named for Drs. Richard and Billy Riley. These new scholarships represent another shining example of the support of The Riley Foundation, and for that we truly thank Bob Deen, chairman, and the other members of the Riley Board.”

The Riley Foundation was formed in 1998 with proceeds from the sale of the local Riley Memorial Hospital. The organization works to improve the quality of life for the people of Meridian and Lauderdale County.  Deen said, “The Riley Foundation understands the financial need for students who ‘fall between the cracks’ when it comes to financial assistance for college.  These 10 non-traditional students will now have an opportunity to pursue their education and become a part of an educated workforce for our community.”

The MCC students tapped for the honor include Christen Boler, Antonio Clayton, Balydia Shanks, Terrance Silva, Sharon Oneal, Ashley Wilder, Jessica Murphy, Krystal Harbour, Danielle Dunkerson and Deidra Johnson. They were selected on the basis of scholastic ability and have not received any other assistance.

Meridian Community College • 910 Highway 19 N, Meridian, MS 39307 • 601-483-8241 • 1-800-MCC-THE-1
AccreditationNondiscrimination StatementMission StatementTransparency
© 2013. All rights reserved.
Contact Webmaster